Sexual Offender Registration

Sexual Predator / Offender Registration:

Sexual Offenders must report in person to the local Sheriff’s Office or Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) office within 48 hours of release from custody and/or supervision of Department of Corrections or Department of Children and Family Services to register their temporary or permanent address.

Registrations are completed Monday thru Friday, 8:00 AM to 3:00 PM (excluding holidays) at the following location:

BCSO Criminal Investigations
340 Gus Hipp Blvd
Rockledge, FL 32955

Phone: (321) 633-8407

The registration process takes about 30 minutes to complete and involves completing pertinent information relating to the crime committed, fingerprinting, and photographing. Registrants need to bring photo identification.

Sexual predators and offenders must report in person twice a year (during the month of his/her birth and in the 6th month thereafter) to the sheriff’s office in the county in which he or she resides. Failure to comply with this requirement is a 3rd degree felony.

When You Need to Re-Register

If your month of birth is You must re-register in person at the Sheriff’s Office in both:
January January & July
February February & August
March March & September
April April & October
May May & November
June June & December
July July & January
August August & February
September September & March
October October & April
November November & May
December December & June

* Please note: This requirement applies both to sexual predators and offenders who have been released from sanctions for their qualifying sex offense, as well as those currently under some form of supervision with the Department of Corrections.

Registration Requirements

General Registration Requirements for Sexual Predators/Offenders:

Sexual Predators (Florida Statute 775.21) or Sexual Offenders (Florida Statute 943.0435 or 944.607) are required by law to abide by the following:

  • Offenders must report in person to the local Sheriff’s Office or Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) office within 48 hours of release from custody and/or supervision of Department of Corrections or Department of Children and Family Services to register my temporary or permanent address.
  • Within 48 hours after the initial report required the offender must report in person to the driver’s license office of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to obtain a valid Florida driver’s license or identification card, unless a driver’s license or identification card was previously secured or updated while under the supervision of Department of Corrections or Department of Children and Family Services and there have been no changes to my address or name.
  • The offender must report, in person each year, twice a year, during the month of his/her birth month and in the 6th month thereafter, to the Sheriff’s Office in the county in which I reside or am located to reregister during the month of my birthday and during the sixth month following my birth month. Failure to comply with this requirement is a felony of the third degree.
  • Within 48 hours, after any change of address in permanent or temporary residence, change of name due to marriage or other legal process, or when a driver’s license is subject to renewal, the offender must report that information in person to the driver’s license office of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to obtain and maintain a valid Florida driver’s license or identification card.
  • If an offender lives in another state, but works or attends school in Florida, they MUST register the work or school address as a temporary address with the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. They also must obtain and maintain a valid Florida driver’s license or identification card.
  • If the offender intends to establish residence in another state or jurisdiction, they must report in person to the local Sheriff’s Office or FDLE office to notify of his/her intention to move out of the state within 48 hours prior to leaving.
  • If an offender laters decide to remain in this state he/she must report in person back to the local Sheriff’s Office or FDLE office to notify of my intention to remain in Florida. This report must occur within 48 hours after the date indicated that he/she would leave.
  • If the offender moves from a permanent residence and does not have another permanent or temporary residence they must report this change in person to the Sheriff’s Office or FDLE office within 48 hours.
  • If the offender later decides to remain at the permanent residence, he/she must report in person back to the Sheriff’s Office or FDLE office to notify of my intention. This report must occur within 48 hours after the date that I indicated that I would leave the permanent residence.
  • The offender must respond to any address verification correspondence from FDLE within three weeks of the date of the correspondence.
  • If the offender is employed, carries on a vocation, is a student, or becomes a resident of another state they he/she must also register in that state.
  • If the offender is enrolled, employed, or carrying on a vocation at an institution of higher education in this state, he/she shall also provide to the department the name, address, and county of each institution, including each campus attended, and his/her enrollment or employment status. He/She shall report each change in enrollment or employment status in person at the Sheriff’s Office with 48 hours after any change in status.